Scallops, Pasta, Pesto, Oh My!

Last night I learned one thing, when it comes to cooking scallops I have no idea what the eff I’m doing. Let me back track, it all started with an issue of Clean Eating magazine (April/May 2011 pg 30), where I saw a recipe for Seared Scallops over Pea Pesto Linguine. I figured cooking scallops couldn’t be much different from cooking chicken (mistake number 1). Despite the step by step guide on the VERY next page explaining exactly how to cook said scallops I did my own thing (mistake number 2). After cooking my scallops until the texture was similar to rubber erasers, I read that that you are suppose to cook scallops for 1-2 minutes on each side. So I learned a few things last night:

*Butter will, in fact, burn the HELL out of you.

*Pea pesto is delicious and I will soon make a jar to keep on hand at all times.

*You should NOT put oil in your pasta water in attempt to prevent the pasta from sticking to the pot. You’ll just end up with oily pasta and the sauce will not stick to the noodles. With that said, a quick stir once or twice and large pot (probably larger than you think you need) will prevent the noodles from sticking to both the pot and clumping together.

*1/4cp of fresh lemon juice in this recipe is plenty, unless you prefer your pesto super lemony.

Note: I subbed butter for olive oil and broccoli for asparagus.

I am now determined to learn the science behind cooking perfect scallops.

DSCN0634.JPG DSCN0639.JPG DSCN0640.JPG DSCN0642.JPG DSCN0645.JPG DSCN0646.JPG

About notsosuite
Just your average girl in love with all things gorgeous and fun.

One Response to Scallops, Pasta, Pesto, Oh My!

  1. grace says:

    fact: pea pesto is one of the finest sauces i’ve ever tasted. it’s pretty, it’s flavorful, and it’s alliterative! 🙂

Leave a Reply

